Transferring an existing domain involves switching the registrar that handles the registration service, so after the transfer itself, you’ll have to manage things like renewal fees or DNS resource record modifications through the new registrar. The transfer procedure itself is standard with most generic and country-code Top-Level Domain extensions. Some country-code extensions are more specific and entail different steps, but in the general case transferring a domain entails a few necessary steps and one of them is unlocking the domain name. The lock is a security option, which is being embraced by more and more domain name registry operators. It is a default feature supported by all gTLDs. If a domain name is locked, it will not be possible to start a transfer procedure, so nobody can even try to snatch your domain. The domain lock can be annulled only through the account where the domain is registered in the first place and all new domain names that support this feature are locked by default the moment they are registered.
Registrar Lock in Shared Hosting
If you get a shared hosting service from our company, you’ll be able to administer all domain names registered through us using our Hepsia hosting Control Panel and you will be able to unlock any of them with only a few mouse clicks. All registrations will be shown in alphabetical order in the Domain Manager section of the Control Panel and for each one of them you’ll notice a tiny padlock sign. Clicking it will show you the current security lock status. If the domain is locked and you would like to transfer it away, you will just need to click for the second time and you’ll be all set. Locking a domain is just as easy and since the domain names are managed in the very same place as the hosting account itself, you won’t need to log in and out of different Control Panels.
Registrar Lock in Semi-dedicated Servers
If you have registered a domain name through us and you want to transfer it away, you can quickly unlock it through the very same Hepsia Control Panel, which you use to manage your semi-dedicated server account. All domain name registrations will be displayed alphabetically in your account and you’ll notice a small padlock icon next to each domain name there, provided that its extension supports the registrar lock feature. You can find out if the domain is locked or not by clicking on this icon and modify the current status by clicking on it again. You can then go ahead and start the domain name transfer right away without the need to wait for the status to be changed on WHOIS lookup sites, as the change will propagate instantaneously without you or us having to do anything else.